Each state has its own laws relating to the penalties and punishments for drug and drug paraphernalia possession. Some states view the possession or selling of such substances as a less serious crime than other substances, while other states impose criminal penalties on all suspects. Grapevine CBD Association is an excellent resource for this.
Marijuana possession is regarded as a minor crime or even no offence at all in some states , cities, and counties. In California, in order to treat a number of medical conditions , individuals may actually get a prescription to legally possess marijuana. And the city of Breckenridge, Colorado, voted to legalise marijuana and marijuana paraphernalia in November 2009. However, despite the decriminalisation of marijuana in these regions, marijuana possession is still regarded as a serious crime in other locations across the country.
One state that takes marijuana use very seriously is the state of Wisconsin. In Wisconsin, marijuana regulations state that:
As a first offence, possession of any quantity of marijuana is a misdemeanour offence punishable by up to 6 months in prison and a fine of up to $ 1,000. While conditional release is available under certain conditions for first time offenders, a second or subsequent drug conviction is a criminal conviction punishable by a federal prison term of up to 3.5 years and a $10,000 fine.
As a misdemeanour offence, the possession or selling of paraphernalia is punishable. Marijuana paraphernalia possession will result in up to 30 days in prison and a $500 fine. The selling of paraphernalia will result in a punishment of 90 days and $1,000, a punishment that can be increased to nine months in prison and a fine of $10,000 if the sale is made to a minor. Fines double on multiple possession offences.
In Wisconsin, a criminal conviction would result in the possession of marijuana with the intent to sell, produce , distribute, or deliver. Penalties can vary from 3.5 to 15 years in federal gaol, depending on the amount of marijuana in possession, with a fine of $10,000 to $25,000.
Both charges also result in a revocation of a driver’s licence ranging from 6 months to 5 years, and possession of a public park or pool, a school or a school bus, or a youth or community centre within 1,000 feet can add an additional 100 hours of community service to the possession term.
Possession of a classroom, school bus, public park, public pool, youth centre or community centre within 1,000 feet adds an additional 100 hours of community service to the possession sentence.